Rudy Perpich Award

Rudy Perpich Public Service Award

In 2006, Grandma’s Marathon created the Rudy Perpich Public Service Award to recognize the many current or former public employees and elected officials who have exhibited dedication and service to the event.

This award, named after the late Minnesota governor who was a large supporter of the annual event, is given annually to up to three current or former public employees or elected officials.

Nomination Form

For more information or to submit a nomination for the 2017 Rudy Perpich Public Service Award, please contact Deadline for nominations is May 15, 2017.

Past Recipients


Bob Brandt, Lake County Highway Department

Richard Hansen, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Lenore Johnson, Lake County Board of Commissioners


Helene Abbott, Duluth Police Department

Roberta Dwyer, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Jim Gorny, City of Duluth


William Amberg, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Bob Troolin, City of Duluth

Mark Wick, Duluth Police Department


Sharon Montgomery, Duluth Police Department

Doug Nelson, City of Duluth

Jim Miles, Minnesota Department of Transportation


Ed Moroney, Duluth Police Department

Kent Lunda, St. Louis County

Al Goodman, Lake County


Scott Collver, Minnesota Department of Transportation

John Foschi, former Proctor City administrator

George Lewis, Retired City of Duluth Parks maintenance foreman


Steve Anderson, St. Louis County

Gary Doty, City of Duluth, former mayor

Paul Scanlan, City of Duluth, retired


Tom Ehle, City of Duluth Police Department, retired

Brad Miller, Minnesota Department of Transportation

John Schlangen, Lake County Highway Department


Jim Benning, City of Duluth

Bob LeDoux, City of Duluth

Earl Stewart, City of Duluth


Kevin Hakala, City of Duluth

Brad Wick, Duluth Police Department

Shawn McGovern, City of Proctor and City of Duluth


Don Ness, City of Duluth, former mayor

Roger Reinert, Minnesota State Senator