About Us / Contact Us | Verizon Wireless Award of Excellence


This award is presented to an individual who has shown many years of dedication, commitment and service to the development and growth of Grandma's Marathon.

2001 – Chester Keenan, Long-time Volunteer

2002 – Mike Krois, Bus Transportation Coordinator

2003 – Tom Ehle, Duluth Police Officer/Head of Marathon Security

2004 – Dan Russell, Executive Director of DECC

2005 – Gert Belsvick, Spaghetti Dinner Coordinator

2006 – Marian Holmes, Race Packet Pick-up Volunteer

2007 – Leah Hulst & Sandy Brennan, "Grandma", the Grandma's Marathon Finish Line Mascot

2008 – Jeff Frey, Official Photographer

2009 – Sue Bussa, Long-time Medical Tent Captain

2010 – Spirit Mountain Ski Patrol, Finish Line Medical Team Assistants

2011 - David Bridges, provider of finish line sound system

2012 - Chris & Stephanie LaFleur, racecourse services volunteers