Media Information | Marsh Nelson Media Luncheon Award

This award is given annually to a media representative to recognize his or her commitment to the coverage and development of Grandma’s Marathon. It is named in memory of former KDLH-TV sports director Marsh Nelson for his tremendous passion for covering Grandma’s Marathon and other local athletic events.


2000 – Kevin Pates, Duluth News Tribune & The Family of Marsh Nelson

2001 – Kerry Rodd, KDAL Radio

2002 – Family of Bruce Bennett, Duluth News Tribune

2003 – Bob Rich, KBJR Channel 6

2004 – Bruce Brothers, St. Paul Pioneer Press

2005 – Rik Jordan, KDAL Radio

2006 – Chuck Curtis, Duluth News Tribune

2007 – Barbara Reyelts, Northland's NewsCenter

2008 – Tom Hansen, Northland's NewsCenter

2009 – Mark Stodghill, Duluth News Tribune

2010 – Dave Jensch, Northland's NewsCenter

2011 – Running Times Magazine

2012 – Pat Cadigan, KDAL Radio

2013 - Dan Moller, Duluth News Tribune